GameTruck franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a GameTruck franchise takes $170,000 – $359,199 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $117,700 – $200,699. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, GameTruck asks for $50,000 in liquid cash and a $150,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
GameTruck franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $117,700 | $200,699 | $117,700 to $200,699 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $170,000 | $359,199 | $170,000 to $359,199 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $150,000 | $150,000 | $150,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $170,000 | $359,199 | $170,000 to $359,199 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 7% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full GameTruck cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How GameTruck's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where GameTruck's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $170,000 — about 97% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $117,700 — about 1.9× the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How GameTruck's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 47 units; 45 units opened, 26 closed, ending at 51 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for GameTruck or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask GameTruck for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether GameTruck is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether GameTruck grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only GameTruck can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the GameTruck franchise
GameTruck is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 51 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 47 units; its filings record 45 unit openings and 26 closures, ending at 51 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is GameTruck Licensing, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchisee will establish and operate a GameTruck Franchised Business including "GameTruck" branded video game trailers, laser tag and other group entertainment offerings to bring excitement and entertainment to people and groups of all ages within a specified geographic area.
GameTruck franchise: quick answers
- How much does a GameTruck franchise cost?
- $170,000 – $359,199 all-in to open, per GameTruck's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many GameTruck units are there?
- 51 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have GameTruck's units held up?
- 92.3% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).