Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Franchise opportunities for veterans: 38 brands with documented incentives

Of the 5,719 brands in our dataset, 38 (0.7%) document a concrete veteran incentive — a fee discount, waiver, or territory break — in sources we can actually check. This page lists only those brands, each shown with its own incentive wording and the real cash-to-open figures, so you weigh the discount against the full cost, not a marketing line.

A brand missing from this list may still run a program we simply can't source — a missing flag is not a missing program, and we make no sitewide veteran claims. Ask any brand directly before ruling it out.

The documented subset in numbers

38
brands with a documented veteran incentive
0.7%
of the full dataset — the covered subset, plainly stated
$106,100
median filed minimum investment among them
4
file a minimum under $50K before any discount

Compiled from franchise disclosure filings. Incentives usually apply to the initial franchise fee, not the whole investment.

Funding it: the VA-loan myth, corrected

A myth worth killing before you budget around it: VA loans don't fund franchises. The VA's loan guaranty covers homes, not business purchases, and the VA doesn't run a small-business loan program — so a page promising "VA franchise financing" is selling something, not describing a benefit.

What veteran funding actually looks like is the same stack every buyer uses — savings, SBA-backed lending, sometimes franchisor financing — plus the documented fee discounts on this page (which usually cut the initial fee, not the build-out). The honest walkthrough: how franchise financing actually works, and the 60-second affordability check — which shows its financing assumption instead of hiding it, and needs no contact info to see your result.

The funding stack, program by program

General orientation, not per-brand claims and not financial advice — program terms change, so confirm current rules at the agency before you budget around any row.

OptionWhat it actually isWatch for
SBA 7(a) / 504 loansGovernment-guaranteed small-business loans made through banks — the standard franchise financing route. Not a veteran benefit: veterans apply like any borrower, through a lender.Expect a real down payment and usually a personal guarantee. Check the brand's status on the SBA Franchise Directory before counting on eligibility.
SBA veteran programs (OVBD / VBOC)The SBA's Office of Veterans Business Development runs free counseling and training (Veterans Business Outreach Centers, Boots to Business) for veterans and military spouses.Veteran-specific loan fee relief has come and gone over the years — confirm what exists right now at sba.gov before budgeting it as a discount.
VetFran-class franchisor incentivesThe International Franchise Association's VetFran program: participating franchisors publish veteran incentives, usually a cut to the initial franchise fee. The table on this page is our documented subset of that incentive class.The discount rarely touches build-out or working capital — the bigger costs. Confirm current terms with the brand; membership lists change.
Franchisor financing (FDD Item 10)Some franchisors finance part of the fee or equipment themselves; the terms must be disclosed in Item 10 of the FDD.Read the actual Item 10 terms — franchisor paper can cost more than a bank's, and it deepens your dependence on the party across the table.
ROBS rolloverA structure that moves retirement savings into business equity without the early-withdrawal penalty.It puts retirement money at business risk and adds compliance overhead. We list it as a risk to understand, not a program to use.
VA loanA home-loan guaranty. It does not fund franchises or business purchases — see the myth correction above.Any page promising "VA franchise financing" is selling something, not describing a benefit.
General program facts as commonly published by SBA and IFA; terms change — verify at the agency before budgeting. No per-brand claims.

PCS orders and franchise agreements: the honest mismatch

A franchise agreement is a multi-year commitment to a defined territory; PCS orders are neither. Most agreements run five to ten or more years, they don't move with you, and selling or transferring a unit mid-term typically requires franchisor approval plus a transfer fee — the assignment and termination rows of FDD Item 17 govern exactly this. If a move during the term is realistic for your household, read those rows before anything else in the FDD, and ask the franchisor — and current military-family owners — how the brand has actually handled a relocation, not whether it "supports veterans." A home-based or mobile concept lowers what a forced move strands in build-out, but it does not shorten the agreement. We can't score any brand "PCS-friendly" — no filing discloses that — so treat this as the question list, not a rating.

Before you inquire: the transition prep checklist

Worth gathering while your separation date is still in front of you — each item shortens the gap between interested and able to act, and none of it requires talking to a salesperson.

  • 01DD-214 copy (Member 4). Brands with a documented incentive apply it to proof of service, and the DD-214 is the standard document. Still serving? A Statement of Service stands in until the DD-214 exists.
  • 02Capital documentation. The inquiry form asks only for a self-reported capital band; lenders and franchisors later want statements. Pull recent savings and retirement statements now so your numbers are documents, not guesses.
  • 03SBA VetCert pointer. The SBA's free veteran small-business certification. Not required to buy a franchise and separate from any fee discount — useful mainly if government contracting is part of the plan. Confirm current rules at sba.gov.
  • 04Boots to Business / VBOC counseling. Free SBA-run entrepreneurship training, on base before separation and through Veterans Business Outreach Centers after. Scheduling it against your separation date costs nothing.
  • 05The paperwork clock. The FDD carries a built-in wait: at least 14 days between receiving it and signing or paying anything. Validation calls and financing commonly run months, not weeks — budget calendar, not just cash.
  • 06PCS honesty check. If another move is realistic for your household, read the agreement-term mismatch above and FDD Item 17's assignment rows before you shortlist anything.

Program terms change and no step here is dated to your DD-214 — the honest sequence with durations lives in how to start a franchise.

All 38 brands, ranked by data completeness

  • Express Employment ProfessionalsProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 50% off Franchise Fee
    Cash to open$140,000 to $400,000
    Franchise fee$96,000
    Royalty9%
  • Comfort KeepersHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 20% Veteran’s discount off initial franchise fee
    Cash to open$119,560 to $190,700
    Franchise fee$55,000
    Royalty5%
  • 911 RestorationProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 15% Off Inital Franchise Fee
    Cash to open$123,600 to $246,900
    Franchise fee$66,500 to $72,500
    Royalty10%
  • Any Lab Test NowHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 10% Discount for Honorably Discharged Veterans
    Cash to open$144,900 to $271,900
    Franchise fee$40,000
    Royalty8%
  • Bruster's Real Ice CreamFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: VetFran Franchise Fee discount, $20,000
    Cash to open$320,500 to $2,566,500
    Franchise fee$32,500 to $58,000
    Royalty5%
  • 101 MobilityHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: $10,000 off the franchise fee for your first start up franchise
    Cash to open$181,850 to $258,600
    Franchise fee$74,000
    Royalty7%
  • CrestcomEducation & ArtsDocumented incentive: 10% off Franchise Fee and Training Fee
    Cash to open$91,850 to $104,919
    Franchise fee$75,000
    Royalty19.75%
  • Clean JuiceFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: Clean Juice offers qualified veterans a 5% discount off of the franchise fee.
    Cash to open$279,000 to $685,500
    Franchise fee$45,000 to $127,000
    Royalty6%
  • British Swim SchoolHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 20% discount off of a single territory fee
    Cash to open$99,960 to $135,010
    Franchise fee$74,460 to $74,660
    Royalty10%
  • Bottle & BottegaLodging & LeisureDocumented incentive: 30% reduction of franchise fee
    Cash to open$97,800 to $162,250
    Franchise fee$29,000
    Royalty6%
  • French Fry HeavenFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: 50% off FF for qualified veterans
    Cash to open$217,500 to $490,500
    Franchise fee$25,000
    Royalty6%
  • Arby'sFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: $5,000 discount on Franchise Fee
    Cash to open$868,550 to $2,456,600
    Franchise fee$12,500 to $56,300
    Royalty4%
  • AlphaGraphicsProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: $10,000 discount off of the franchise fee
    Cash to open$291,289 to $374,189
    Franchise fee$227,089
    Royalty3%
  • Always Best Care Senior ServicesHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: Always Best Care offers a 5% discount to veterans, minorities and first responders.
    Cash to open$89,725 to $145,900
    Franchise fee$49,900
    Royalty6%
  • Aire ServProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 20% off initial franchise fee for qualified veterans
    Cash to open$87,600 to $216,400
    Franchise fee$41,250
    Royalty7%
  • Blo Blow Dry BarHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 10% off Setup Fee for US military veterans
    Cash to open$309,031 to $379,502
    Franchise fee$66,480 to $74,795
    Royalty6%
  • Caring Senior ServiceHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 20% discount off of first unit franchise fee
    Cash to open$97,892 to $131,656
    Franchise fee$49,000
    Royalty5%
  • Andy OnCallProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 10% and No royalties for 12 months
    Cash to open$35,650 to $47,050
    Franchise fee$25,000 to $30,000
    Royalty5%
  • Extreme PizzaFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: 25% off Franchise Fee. No Royalty Fees for the 1st 3 months
    Cash to open$216,000 to $487,100
    Franchise fee$30,000
    Royalty5%
  • AMH EnterprisesProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 20% discount
    Cash to open$52,200 to $149,700
    Franchise fee$35,000
    Royalty6%
  • A Place At HomeProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: Veterans and First Responders will receive a 10% discount on their Franchise Fee.
    Cash to open$91,195 to $166,012
    Franchise fee$50,200 to $50,900
    Royalty5.5%
  • Good Stuff EateryFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: $1,000 credit on product purchases
    Cash to open$1,029,500 to $1,338,500
    Franchise fee$50,000
    Royalty6%
  • Filta Environmental Kitchen SolutionsProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: We offer a $5,000 discount in honor of those who've served our great country.
    Cash to open$123,600 to $139,250
    Franchise fee$109,900
    Royaltyn/d
  • AerusHome ServicesDocumented incentive: $2,500 Off Any Package; DD-214 Required
    Cash to open$30,500 to $417,790
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royalty8%
  • Expense Reduction AnalystsProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: $5,000 discount to qualified Veterans
    Cash to open$71,000 to $95,900
    Franchise fee$59,900 to $64,900
    Royaltyn/d
  • Expedia CruisesAuto & TravelDocumented incentive: Veterans and First Responders receive a 15% discount on the franchise fee
    Cash to open$197,050 to $328,745
    Franchise fee$49,000
    Royaltyn/d
  • All Nevada InsuranceProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: Up to 15% off initial Franchise Fee
    Cash to open$58,800 to $144,800
    Franchise fee$25,000
    Royaltyn/d
  • Fit Body Boot CampHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: $5,000 off buy-in
    Cash to open$170,600 to $296,100
    Franchise fee$54,600
    Royaltyn/d
  • CMIT SolutionsProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 20% Veteran Discount
    Cash to open$101,950 to $154,950
    Franchise fee$52,050 to $63,550
    Royaltyn/d
  • FIBRENEWHome ServicesDocumented incentive: $4,700 Veterans Discount
    Cash to open$102,105 to $122,280
    Franchise fee$89,000
    Royaltyn/d
  • Bloomin' BlindsHome ServicesDocumented incentive: $2,500 off Franchise Fee for Military Veterans as well as Public Safety (Police/Fire)
    Cash to open$129,100 to $245,500
    Franchise fee$84,500
    Royaltyn/d
  • Bar-B-CleanProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 10% discount off of the franchise fee
    Cash to open$78,200 to $136,620
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royalty8%
  • BooXkeepingProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 25% Veterans and active Military spouse discount
    Cash to open$62,342 to $69,342
    Franchise fee$44,995
    Royaltyn/d
  • CreatifEducation & ArtsDocumented incentive: 15% off the initial franchise fee
    Cash to open$42,300 to $54,475
    Franchise fee$30,000
    Royaltyn/d
  • FuntopiaHealth & FitnessDocumented incentive: 10% off the Franchise Fee for the First Territory
    Cash to open$1,400,043 to $1,928,381
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royalty6%
  • Black Dawg SealcoatProfessional ServicesDocumented incentive: 25% off Setup Fee for US military veterans
    Cash to open$43,776 to $100,226
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royaltyn/d
  • Bottoms Up EspressoFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: Minimum 10% Discount
    Cash to open$106,100 to $245,300
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royaltyn/d
  • GrownFood & BeverageDocumented incentive: 25% off Franchise Fee
    Cash to openNot disclosed
    Franchise feeNot disclosed
    Royaltyn/d

"Not disclosed" means the brand's filings we can source don't state the figure — a gap, not a zero. Incentive wording is the brand's own; confirm current terms directly with the brand before you count on the discount.

Do all franchises offer veteran discounts?

No — and we won't pretend otherwise. 38 of the 5,719 brands in our dataset (0.7%) document a veteran incentive in the sources we can check, and those are the only brands on this page. A brand missing here may still run a veteran program we can't source — a missing flag is not a missing program. Ask any brand directly before ruling it out.

What counts as a documented veteran incentive here?

A concrete, checkable discount: a percentage or dollar amount off the initial franchise fee, a waived fee, or a stated territory discount. Vague "veteran-friendly" marketing language doesn't qualify and was filtered out of the data — and so was any incentive text our source data couldn't clearly attribute to its brand (we found identical wording repeated across unrelated brands and suppressed all of it rather than guess). The incentive text shown on each row is the brand's own wording.

Can a veteran incentive make a franchise affordable under $50K?

Sometimes — 4 of the 38 brands here already file a minimum investment under $50K before any discount. The incentive usually cuts the initial franchise fee, not the build-out, so check the full cash-to-open range on each brand's page, and run the numbers on your own capital first.

Working with a fixed budget? Franchises under $50K — the full cash-to-open list or run the 60-second affordability check — no contact info needed to see your result.