Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise takes $43,776 – $100,226 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Black Dawg Sealcoat, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $43,776 | $100,226 | $43,776 to $100,226 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $43,776 | $100,226 | $43,776 to $100,226 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Black Dawg Sealcoat's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Black Dawg Sealcoat cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Black Dawg Sealcoat's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Black Dawg Sealcoat's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $43,776 — about 48% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Black Dawg Sealcoat's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2017: began the window at 72 units; 24 units opened, 18 closed, ending at 89 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Black Dawg Sealcoat or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Black Dawg Sealcoat for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Black Dawg Sealcoat is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Black Dawg Sealcoat grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Black Dawg Sealcoat can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise
Black Dawg Sealcoat is a professional services franchisor with 89 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2017, it began the window at 72 units; its filings record 24 unit openings and 18 closures, ending at 89 units. Its parent company is Jet-Black International, Inc..
Litigation history not in our data for Black Dawg Sealcoat — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.
Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Black Dawg Sealcoat franchise cost?
- $43,776 – $100,226 all-in to open, per Black Dawg Sealcoat's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Black Dawg Sealcoat units are there?
- 89 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Black Dawg Sealcoat's units held up?
- 96.7% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).