Magnuson Hotels franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Magnuson Hotels franchise takes $210,000 – $570,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Magnuson Hotels, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Magnuson Hotels franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $210,000 | $570,000 | $210,000 to $570,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $210,000 | $570,000 | $210,000 to $570,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Magnuson Hotels's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Magnuson Hotels cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Magnuson Hotels's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Magnuson Hotels's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $210,000 — about 97% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 84% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Magnuson Hotels's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2020: began the window at 2 units; 29 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 31 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Magnuson Hotels or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Magnuson Hotels for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Magnuson Hotels is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Magnuson Hotels grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Magnuson Hotels can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Magnuson Hotels franchise
Magnuson Hotels is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 31 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2020, it began the window at 2 units; its filings record 29 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 31 units. Its parent company is Magnuson Company, L.L.C..
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise offered is for the right to operate a hotel under the Magnuson brand name using property and revenue management services from Magnuson Franchising.
Magnuson Hotels franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Magnuson Hotels franchise cost?
- $210,000 – $570,000 all-in to open, per Magnuson Hotels's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Magnuson Hotels units are there?
- 31 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).