How much is a Natural Awakenings franchise? $59,550 – $86,275 to open, per its disclosure filings
$59,550 – $86,275
Opening a Natural Awakenings franchise takes $59,550 – $86,275 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $49,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Natural Awakenings cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $49,500 | $49,500 | $49,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $59,550 | $86,275 | $59,550 to $86,275 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $59,550 | $86,275 | $59,550 to $86,275 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Natural Awakenings's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 7% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $59,550 – $86,275 range is derived from Natural Awakenings's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 7% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Natural Awakenings's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Natural Awakenings's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $59,550 — about 30% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $49,500 — about 1.2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Natural Awakenings or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Natural Awakenings for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Natural Awakenings franchise fee?
$49,500, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Natural Awakenings charge?
A royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.