Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Reading Town franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2001

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Reading Town's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Reading Town franchise takes $99,500 – $163,600 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $25,000 – $35,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Reading Town franchise costs and fees

The Reading Town all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$25,000 to $35,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$99,500 to $163,600
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$99,500 to $163,600
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Reading Town's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales8%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Reading Town cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Reading Town's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Reading Town's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $99,500 — about 1.2× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $25,000 — about 37% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Reading Town

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Reading Town + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Reading Town's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 13 units; 10 units opened, 3 closed, ending at 19 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

10 units opened and 3 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 2 opened2014: 4 opened2015: 1 opened2016: 1 closed2019: 3 opened2019: 2 closed
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Reading Town began the window at 13 units. Note — partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 10 units opened and 3 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Reading Town or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Reading Town for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Reading Town is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Reading Town grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Reading Town can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Reading Town franchise

Reading Town is a professional services franchisor with 19 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 13 units; its filings record 10 unit openings and 3 closures, ending at 19 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Good Servant, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Under the franchise we offer, you will operate a business that offers tutonng and learning center services in reading, writing, math, and speech In addition, you will conduct diagnostic assessments and provide academic counseling to parents as well as to students You will provide these services to students from K to 12*^ grades, operating under the marks and using the System of Reading Town The market for your services is pnmarily students from K to 12''' grades and specifically that segment that seeks academic tutoring in reading, writing, math, and speech You will compete with other national, regional and local tutoring or learning centers, generally in well-developed markets Your Licensed Business may operate in close proximity to major competitors Some competitors will offer many goods and services that are the same as or similar to those you offer We have three corporate-owned centers and eighteen franchisee centers

Excerpted from Reading Town's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Reading Town franchise: quick answers

How much does a Reading Town franchise cost?
$99,500 – $163,600 all-in to open, per Reading Town's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Reading Town units are there?
19 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).