How much is a Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) franchise? $107,400 to open, per its disclosure filings
$107,400
Opening a Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) franchise takes $107,400 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000 – $100,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 10% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $30,000 | $100,000 | $30,000 to $100,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $107,400 | $107,400 | $107,400 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $107,400 | $107,400 | $107,400 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 10% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $107,400 range is derived from Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen)'s filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 10% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen)'s cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen)'s disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $107,400 — about 1.3× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about 24% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) franchise fee?
$30,000 – $100,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Scotts LawnService (now merged with TruGreen) charge?
A royalty of 10% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.