How much is a Tru by Hilton franchise? $12,767,064 – $18,572,795 to open, per its disclosure filings
$12,767,064 – $18,572,795
Opening a Tru by Hilton franchise takes $12,767,064 – $18,572,795 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $239,441. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 4%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Tru by Hilton cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $239,441 | $239,441 | $239,441 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $12,767,064 | $18,572,795 | $12,767,064 to $18,572,795 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $12,767,064 | $18,572,795 | $12,767,064 to $18,572,795 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Tru by Hilton's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5.5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 4% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 22 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $12,767,064 – $18,572,795 range is derived from Tru by Hilton's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 5.5% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 4%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Tru by Hilton's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Tru by Hilton's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $12,767,064 — about 2.1× the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $239,441 — about 3.8× the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Tru by Hilton or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Tru by Hilton for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Tru by Hilton franchise fee?
$239,441, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Tru by Hilton charge?
A royalty of 5.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 4%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.