Tutoring Club franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Tutoring Club franchise takes $77,000 – $142,400 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is From $34,500. To qualify, Tutoring Club asks for $50,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Tutoring Club franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $34,500 | n/d | From $34,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $77,000 | $142,400 | $77,000 to $142,400 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $77,000 | $142,400 | $77,000 to $142,400 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Tutoring Club cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Tutoring Club's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Tutoring Club's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $77,000 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $34,500 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Tutoring Club's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2016: began the window at 110 units; 9 units opened, 54 closed, ending at 68 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Tutoring Club or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Tutoring Club for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Tutoring Club is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Tutoring Club grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Tutoring Club can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Tutoring Club franchise
Tutoring Club is a professional services franchisor with 68 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2016, it began the window at 110 units; its filings record 9 unit openings and 54 closures, ending at 68 units. Its parent company is Tutoring Club, LLC. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
Litigation history not in our data for Tutoring Club — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.
From the franchisor's materials
As a franchisee, you will operate an education business that provides individualized academic assistance to students of all ages and ability levels. From early learning to college preparation, your business will serve as a dedicated partner to families at every step of their child’s academic journey.
Tutoring Club franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Tutoring Club franchise cost?
- $77,000 – $142,400 all-in to open, per Tutoring Club's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Tutoring Club units are there?
- 68 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Tutoring Club's units held up?
- 71.1% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).