How much is a Wild Birds Unlimited franchise? $224,273 – $379,309 to open, per its disclosure filings
$224,273 – $379,309
Opening a Wild Birds Unlimited franchise takes $224,273 – $379,309 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $48,799 – $49,199. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. To qualify, Wild Birds Unlimited asks for $40,000 in liquid cash and a $300,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Wild Birds Unlimited cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $48,799 | $49,199 | $48,799 to $49,199 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $224,273 | $379,309 | $224,273 to $379,309 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $300,000 | $300,000 | $300,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $40,000 | $40,000 | $40,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $224,273 | $379,309 | $224,273 to $379,309 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 4% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $224,273 – $379,309 range is derived from Wild Birds Unlimited's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 4% on sales, the ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Wild Birds Unlimited's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Wild Birds Unlimited's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $224,273 — about 2.6× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $48,799 — about 1.2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Wild Birds Unlimited or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Wild Birds Unlimited for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Wild Birds Unlimited franchise fee?
$48,799 – $49,199, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
What ongoing fees does Wild Birds Unlimited charge?
A royalty of 4% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Wild Birds Unlimited franchise?
Wild Birds Unlimited's filings ask for $40,000 in liquid cash and a $300,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.