Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Accounting Practice Sales franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2011

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Accounting Practice Sales's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening an Accounting Practice Sales franchise takes $13,500 – $153,850 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $1,100 – $94,400. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 15% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Accounting Practice Sales franchise costs and fees

The Accounting Practice Sales all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$1,100 to $94,400
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$13,500 to $153,850
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$13,500 to $153,850
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Accounting Practice Sales's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales15%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Accounting Practice Sales cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Accounting Practice Sales's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Accounting Practice Sales's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $13,500 — about 84% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $1,100 — about 97% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Accounting Practice Sales

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Accounting Practice Sales + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Accounting Practice Sales's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2021: began the window at 0 units; 51 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 49 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

51 units opened and 0 closed between 2013 and 2021.2013: 13 opened2014: 26 opened2015: 5 opened2016: 5 opened2021: 2 opened
100%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Accounting Practice Sales began the window at 0 units. Note — partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 51 units opened and 0 closed between 2013 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Accounting Practice Sales or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Accounting Practice Sales for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Accounting Practice Sales is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Accounting Practice Sales grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Accounting Practice Sales can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Accounting Practice Sales franchise

Accounting Practice Sales is a professional services franchisor with 49 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 51 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 49 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Accounting Practice Sales II, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The Accounting Practice Sales franchise allows you to follow The APS System for the sale of accounting and tax practices.

Excerpted from Accounting Practice Sales's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Accounting Practice Sales franchise: quick answers

How much does an Accounting Practice Sales franchise cost?
$13,500 – $153,850 all-in to open, per Accounting Practice Sales's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Accounting Practice Sales units are there?
49 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Accounting Practice Sales's units held up?
100% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).