Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

How much is an Avis franchise? $605,500 – $1,568,400 to open, per its disclosure filings

$605,500 – $1,568,400

cash to open, all-inas of 2026-05

Opening an Avis franchise takes $605,500 – $1,568,400 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Avis, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Avis cost table

The Avis all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$30,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$605,500 to $1,568,400
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$605,500 to $1,568,400
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Avis's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales8%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

The investment figure is a RANGE of FDD Item 7 line items — real estate, build-out, equipment, and working capital, each varying with your market. Our source data carries only the aggregate; the line-by-line amounts and their footnotes are in the brand's FDD Item 7 table. What Item 7 is and how to read it

What's in that number — and what isn't

The $605,500 – $1,568,400 range is derived from Avis's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.

Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 8% on sales, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.

How Avis's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Avis's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $605,500 — about 3.4× the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about in line with the Auto & Travel median of $33,740.

Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Avis or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Avis for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

Get more information about AvisStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Check your investment band — compare franchises by budget

What is the Avis franchise fee?

$30,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

What ongoing fees does Avis charge?

A royalty of 8% on sales, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

Full Avis profile: unit track record, quick answers & more