Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Automotive franchise opportunities

We track 192 automotive franchise brands; 150 disclose a minimum investment, with a median of $177,500. Initial franchise fees typically fall between $18,000 and $49,125 (middle half of disclosed fees). Every figure below is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.

What automotive franchises cost: a snapshot

The 8 automotive brands with the most complete filings, cash-to-open low to high. The full list is below.

Automotive franchise cost snapshot
Verification markBrandRange
Source-cited figureSUPERGLASS WINDSHIELD REPAIRFranchise fee $28,652 – $57,922$37,602 to $112,522
Source-cited figureTint WorldFranchise fee $183,350 – $220,350$289,950 to $469,950
Source-cited figureAlloy Wheel Repair SpecialistsFranchise fee $40,000 – $110,000$100,000 to $638,500
Source-cited figureCar-XFranchise fee $30,000 – $35,000$315,200 to $512,000
Source-cited figureDollar Rent A CarFranchise fee $25,000 – $125,000$879,300 to $15,874,000
Source-cited figureCottman Transmission and Total Auto CareFranchise fee $37,500$192,199 to $230,499
Source-cited figureAll Tune and Lube | ATL Motor Mate | All Tune TransmissionsFranchise fee $69,200 – $83,500$112,000 to $146,500
Source-cited figureMerlin 200,000 Miles ShopsFranchise fee $35,195 – $86,195$264,745 to $534,395
as of 2026-05 · Source: FDD-derived filings, per brandTickmark legend: how we verify

Automotive trades, guide by guide

How much does an automotive franchise cost?

The median minimum investment across the 150 automotive brands that disclose one is $177,500; the middle half of disclosed minimums falls between $86,269 and $334,625. Format and real estate drive the spread — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7.

What franchise fee and royalty do automotive brands charge?

The median disclosed initial franchise fee in automotive is $33,740 (middle half: $18,000–$49,125), and the median ongoing royalty is 6% of revenue. The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out and working capital usually dwarf it.

Which automotive franchises cost the least to open?

Among automotive brands with full cost data, the lowest disclosed minimum investments are CruiseOne | Dream Vacations ($12,595 – $20,970), SUPERGLASS WINDSHIELD REPAIR ($37,602 – $112,522), Dr. Vinyl ($41,320 – $71,500). A low minimum is a filed low, not an all-in promise — check each brand's full range.

How many automotive franchise brands are there?

Our dataset profiles 192 automotive franchise brands; 150 disclose investment figures and 36 meet our full-cost-data bar (fee, investment, royalty, and unit history all on file).

Automotive brands with full cost data (36 of 192)

Ranked by data completeness, then size. Where a brand won't disclose a figure, the cell says so.

BrandCash to openFranchise fee
SUPERGLASS WINDSHIELD REPAIR$37,602 – $112,522$28,652 – $57,922
Tint World$289,950 – $469,950$183,350 – $220,350
Alloy Wheel Repair Specialists$100,000 – $638,500$40,000 – $110,000
Car-X$315,200 – $512,000$30,000 – $35,000
Dollar Rent A Car$879,300 – $15,874,000$25,000 – $125,000
Cottman Transmission and Total Auto Care$192,199 – $230,499$37,500
All Tune and Lube | ATL Motor Mate | All Tune Transmissions$112,000 – $146,500$69,200 – $83,500
Merlin 200,000 Miles Shops$264,745 – $534,395$35,195 – $86,195
Fast Undercar$54,800 – $805,000$12,500
DetailXPerts$88,500 – $195,100$65,500 – $81,100
Quality Tune-Up Shops$234,000 – $282,750$12,500
ProColor Collision$316,800 – $3,129,500$10,000 – $20,000
CruiseOne | Dream Vacations$12,595 – $20,970$10,500
Jiffy Lube$232,000 – $520,000$35,000 – $85,000
Meineke Car Care Center$122,758 – $572,540$27,700 – $61,195
Valvoline Instant Oil Change$192,375 – $3,483,550$73,750 – $122,050
AAMCO Transmissions$234,800 – $353,200$68,000 – $90,500
PacLease$454,250 – $904,250$4,250
Hertz$879,300 – $15,839,000$25,000 – $100,000
Budget$605,500 – $1,568,400$25,000 – $30,000
Grease Monkey$708,057 – $2,284,321$39,900 – $49,900
Avis$605,500 – $1,568,400$30,000
RNR Tire Express$703,561 – $1,687,275$45,500
Novus Glass$90,000 – $284,690$50,700 – $78,010
Tuffy Tire & Auto Service$229,000 – $728,500$40,000 – $50,000
Dr. Vinyl$41,320 – $71,500$24,500
J.D. Byrider | CarNow Acceptance Co.$814,750 – $1,437,500$60,000
SpeeDee Oil Change & Auto Service$708,057 – $2,284,321$39,900 – $49,900
Honest-1 Auto Care$223,150 – $997,650$62,500 – $65,000
Express Oil Change | Tire Engineers$2,562,000 – $3,815,000$50,000
Strickland Brothers$270,400 – $486,900$64,900 – $69,900
Fleet Clean$160,325 – $436,375$74,125 – $227,625
Auto Driveaway$87,075 – $172,400$15,000
Eagle Transmission$221,000 – $385,500$35,000
Payless Car Rental$605,500 – $1,568,400$25,000 – $30,000
Kennedy Transmission Brake & Auto Service$88,500 – $162,500$12,000
Source: FDD-derived filings, per brand

The remaining 156 automotive brands disclose only partial figures. Browse all 192 in the directory, honest gaps included.

Other industries

Keep researching

Still researching?

Compare automotive brands against every budget band — filed minimums, honest "not disclosed" included.

Compare franchises by investment level