Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Retail franchise opportunities

We track 256 retail franchise brands; 199 disclose a minimum investment, with a median of $165,000. Initial franchise fees typically fall between $24,900 and $49,950 (middle half of disclosed fees). Every figure below is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.

What retail franchises cost: a snapshot

The 8 retail brands with the most complete filings, cash-to-open low to high. The full list is below.

Retail franchise cost snapshot
Verification markBrandRange
Source-cited figureFASTSIGNSFranchise fee $154,143 – $161,325$240,080 to $310,569
Source-cited figureRent-A-CenterFranchise fee $80,700 – $120,000$355,268 to $560,225
Source-cited figureWINZERFranchise fee $3,500$5,950 to $16,153
Source-cited figureInterstate All Battery CenterFranchise fee $55,100 – $67,500$179,200 to $438,000
Source-cited figureCrown TrophyFranchise fee $118,000 – $128,000$168,150 to $199,200
Source-cited figureiFixandRepairFranchise fee $36,000 – $53,500$78,200 to $147,450
Source-cited figureThe Beef Jerky ExperienceFranchise fee $66,400 – $74,400$193,250 to $406,900
Source-cited figureMetal SupermarketsFranchise fee $62,500$340,500 to $592,500
as of 2026-05 · Source: FDD-derived filings, per brandTickmark legend: how we verify

How much does a retail franchise cost?

The median minimum investment across the 199 retail brands that disclose one is $165,000; the middle half of disclosed minimums falls between $113,682 and $269,249. Format and real estate drive the spread — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7.

What franchise fee and royalty do retail brands charge?

The median disclosed initial franchise fee in retail is $36,750 (middle half: $24,900–$49,950), and the median ongoing royalty is 5% of revenue. The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out and working capital usually dwarf it.

Which retail franchises cost the least to open?

Among retail brands with full cost data, the lowest disclosed minimum investments are OfficeZilla ($5,300 – $29,250), WINZER ($5,950 – $16,153), Destination Athlete ($28,300 – $108,610). A low minimum is a filed low, not an all-in promise — check each brand's full range.

How many retail franchise brands are there?

Our dataset profiles 256 retail franchise brands; 199 disclose investment figures and 52 meet our full-cost-data bar (fee, investment, royalty, and unit history all on file).

Retail brands with full cost data (52 of 256)

Ranked by data completeness, then size. Where a brand won't disclose a figure, the cell says so.

BrandCash to openFranchise fee
FASTSIGNS$240,080 – $310,569$154,143 – $161,325
Rent-A-Center$355,268 – $560,225$80,700 – $120,000
WINZER$5,950 – $16,153$3,500
Interstate All Battery Center$179,200 – $438,000$55,100 – $67,500
Crown Trophy$168,150 – $199,200$118,000 – $128,000
iFixandRepair$78,200 – $147,450$36,000 – $53,500
The Beef Jerky Experience$193,250 – $406,900$66,400 – $74,400
Metal Supermarkets$340,500 – $592,500$62,500
Style Encore$339,200 – $458,900$48,200 – $55,900
1-800-Flowers.com$258,500 – $932,500$43,650 – $70,500
Flip Flop Shops$182,900 – $349,400$30,000
DrPhoneFix | Techy Repairs & Smart Home Installs$172,500 – $399,500$22,500
Postal Connections$134,320 – $239,150$38,300 – $38,800
fab'rik$113,700 – $190,800$35,000
Device Pitstop$100,700 – $218,250$23,000 – $46,250
Game Kastle$185,000 – $597,500$45,000 – $72,500
3 Monkeys Smoke Shop$156,250 – $202,700$25,000
BakersBodega$311,400 – $577,570$100,000
Drone Nerds$162,900 – $271,900$24,900
Batteries Plus Bulbs$221,679 – $431,072$15,000 – $185,832
Plato's Closet$355,700 – $467,900$48,200 – $55,900
Once Upon A Child$355,700 – $485,900$48,200 – $55,900
The Medicine Shoppe$513,050 – $895,653$103,425
Play It Again Sports$346,300 – $459,700$43,800 – $49,700
Tide Dry Cleaners$709,700 – $1,505,800$65,720 – $78,285
Destination Athlete$28,300 – $108,610$20,000 – $65,000
Fleet Feet Sports$228,500 – $545,000$22,500 – $47,055
Clothes Mentor$305,000 – $428,500$25,000
Fast-Fix Jewelry and Watch Repairs$115,111 – $222,931$20,412 – $23,231
Gateway Newstands$55,875 – $501,750$15,000 – $150,000
Apricot Lane$156,450 – $347,300$44,450 – $48,800
Learning Express$201,491 – $387,514$47,500
Big Frog Custom T-Shirts & More$161,109 – $319,684$60,000
Mainstream Boutique$198,200 – $361,350$20,000 – $40,000
Woodcraft$573,855 – $755,512$55,289 – $55,450
Bella Bridesmaids$92,900 – $252,000$50,000
Flower Tent$47,500 – $82,000$29,900
Halloween Express$170,000 – $267,700$10,000
FastFrame$135,325 – $246,663$64,800
Real Deals on Home Decor$141,350 – $265,400$30,500 – $32,000
Street Corner$287,399 – $702,199$45,399 – $93,899
Music Go Round$335,300 – $443,700$43,800 – $47,700
Flowerama$227,000 – $855,000$18,650 – $38,000
Clothes Bin$161,940 – $216,980$135,290 – $155,780
Grasons Co.$58,800 – $109,000$49,900
OfficeZilla$5,300 – $29,250$5,000
VaporFi$89,300 – $159,850$29,900
Battery Giant$221,720$29,900
Clubstore Outlet$197,200 – $273,500$40,000
Mode$178,000 – $309,000$15,000 – $35,000
LED Source$40,350 – $113,750$21,000 – $32,000
NTY Clothing Exchange$181,000 – $292,000$25,000
Source: FDD-derived filings, per brand

The remaining 204 retail brands disclose only partial figures. Browse all 256 in the directory, honest gaps included.

Other industries

Keep researching

Still researching?

Compare retail brands against every budget band — filed minimums, honest "not disclosed" included.

Compare franchises by investment level