Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Rent-A-Center franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 2013

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Rent-A-Center's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Rent-A-Center franchise takes $355,268 – $560,225 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $80,700 – $120,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%. To qualify, Rent-A-Center asks for $1,000,000 in liquid cash and a $750,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Rent-A-Center franchise costs and fees

The Rent-A-Center all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$80,700 to $120,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$355,268 to $560,225
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$750,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$1,000,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$355,268 to $560,225
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 3%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Rent-A-Center cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Rent-A-Center's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Rent-A-Center's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $355,268 — about 2.2× the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $80,700 — about 2.2× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Rent-A-Center

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Rent-A-Center + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Rent-A-Center's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2020: began the window at 0 units; 370 units opened, 32 closed, ending at 399 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

370 units opened and 32 closed between 2013 and 2020.2013: 98 opened2013: 6 closed2014: 22 opened2014: 5 closed2015: 45 opened2015: 1 closed2016: 5 opened2016: 2 closed2017: 3 opened2017: 7 closed2019: 97 opened2019: 5 closed2020: 100 opened2020: 6 closed
94.9%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Rent-A-Center began the window at 0 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 370 units opened and 32 closed between 2013 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Rent-A-Center or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Rent-A-Center for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Rent-A-Center is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Rent-A-Center grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Rent-A-Center can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Rent-A-Center franchise

Rent-A-Center is a retail franchisor with 399 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2020, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 370 unit openings and 32 closures, ending at 399 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Rent-A-Center Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchises described in this Disclosure Document are for rental businesses which provide "rental purchase"programs for a specialized inventory of rental products, such as major consumer electronics, appliances, furniture, computers, tiresand jewelry, as well as the sale of related accessories. In addition, in states with favorable laws, a small number of our Rental Stores offer financial services, including payday loans and title loans.

Excerpted from Rent-A-Center's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Rent-A-Center franchise: quick answers

How much does a Rent-A-Center franchise cost?
$355,268 – $560,225 all-in to open, per Rent-A-Center's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Rent-A-Center units are there?
399 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Rent-A-Center's units held up?
94.9% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).