Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Flowerama franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 1966

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Flowerama's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Flowerama franchise takes $227,000 – $855,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $18,650 – $38,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Flowerama franchise costs and fees

The Flowerama all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$18,650 to $38,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$227,000 to $855,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$227,000 to $855,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Flowerama's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Flowerama cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Flowerama's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Flowerama's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $227,000 — about 1.4× the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $18,650 — about 49% below the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Flowerama

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Flowerama + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Flowerama's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2022: began the window at 68 units; 1 units opened, 30 closed, ending at 35 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

1 units opened and 30 closed between 2013 and 2022.2013: 5 closed2014: 4 closed2015: 4 closed2016: 6 closed2019: 5 closed2020: 3 closed2021: 1 opened2021: 2 closed2022: 1 closed
85.4%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Flowerama began the window at 68 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 1 units opened and 30 closed between 2013 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Flowerama or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Flowerama for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Flowerama is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Flowerama grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Flowerama can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Flowerama franchise

Flowerama is a retail franchisor with 35 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2022, it began the window at 68 units; its filings record 1 unit openings and 30 closures, ending at 35 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is 1-800-Flowers.com, Inc..

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise offered is for the retail sale of fresh cut flowers, floral arrangements, green plants, blooming plants, artificial flowers and plants, a full line of floral and plant accessories and gifts, and fresh fruit products, including fresh cut fruit arrangements and related products.

Excerpted from Flowerama's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Flowerama franchise: quick answers

How much does a Flowerama franchise cost?
$227,000 – $855,000 all-in to open, per Flowerama's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Flowerama units are there?
35 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Flowerama's units held up?
85.4% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Flowerama SBA-eligible?
Flowerama is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.