Gateway Newstands franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Gateway Newstands franchise takes $55,875 – $501,750 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $15,000 – $150,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales. To qualify, Gateway Newstands asks for $75,000 in liquid cash and a $200,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Gateway Newstands franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $15,000 | $150,000 | $15,000 to $150,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $55,875 | $501,750 | $55,875 to $501,750 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $200,000 | $200,000 | $200,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $75,000 | $75,000 | $75,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $55,875 | $501,750 | $55,875 to $501,750 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 4% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Gateway Newstands cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Gateway Newstands's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Gateway Newstands's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $55,875 — about 66% below the Retail median of $165,000.
- Initial franchise fee of $15,000 — about 59% below the Retail median of $36,750.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Gateway Newstands's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2016: began the window at 124 units; 19 units opened, 27 closed, ending at 116 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Gateway Newstands or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Gateway Newstands for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Gateway Newstands is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Gateway Newstands grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Gateway Newstands can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Gateway Newstands franchise
Gateway Newstands is a retail franchisor with 116 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2016, it began the window at 124 units; its filings record 19 unit openings and 27 closures, ending at 116 units. Its parent company is Tobmar Investments Int'l. Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Gateway franchise system has proven to be a successful business proposition establishing itself as the foremost newstand operation.
Gateway Newstands franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Gateway Newstands franchise cost?
- $55,875 – $501,750 all-in to open, per Gateway Newstands's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Gateway Newstands units are there?
- 116 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Gateway Newstands's units held up?
- 87.9% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).