Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise takes $234,000 – $282,750 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $12,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 10% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 10%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $12,500 | $12,500 | $12,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $234,000 | $282,750 | $234,000 to $282,750 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $234,000 | $282,750 | $234,000 to $282,750 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Quality Tune-Up Shops's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 10% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 10% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Quality Tune-Up Shops cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Quality Tune-Up Shops's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Quality Tune-Up Shops's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:
- Minimum startup cost of $234,000 — about 1.3× the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $12,500 — about 63% below the Auto & Travel median of $33,740.
Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Quality Tune-Up Shops's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 6 units; 2 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 5 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Quality Tune-Up Shops or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Quality Tune-Up Shops for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Quality Tune-Up Shops is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Quality Tune-Up Shops grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Quality Tune-Up Shops can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise
Quality Tune-Up Shops is an auto & travel franchisor with 5 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 6 units; its filings record 2 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 5 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
TM, LLC offers to prospective franchisees (referred to as “you”) a system and method for promoting and operating a retail automotive center providing tune-up, lube, oil and filter, smog related services and specific automotive repair products and services. The franchised business includes a marketing system, business organization and guidelines for providing services relating to the repair and servicing of new and used automobiles (together referred to as the “QTS System”).
Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise cost?
- $234,000 – $282,750 all-in to open, per Quality Tune-Up Shops's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Quality Tune-Up Shops units are there?
- 5 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).