Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Budget franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Auto & TravelFDD entity year 2002

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Budget's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Budget franchise takes $605,500 – $1,568,400 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $25,000 – $30,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales. To qualify, Budget asks for $170,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Budget franchise costs and fees

The Budget all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$25,000 to $30,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$605,500 to $1,568,400
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$170,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$605,500 to $1,568,400
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Budget's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales8%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Budget cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Budget's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Budget's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $605,500 — about 3.4× the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $25,000 — about 26% below the Auto & Travel median of $33,740.

Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises

Get free info about Budget

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Budget + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Budget's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 239 units; 113 units opened, 80 closed, ending at 191 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

113 units opened and 80 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 36 opened2012: 12 closed2013: 16 opened2013: 7 closed2014: 24 opened2014: 4 closed2015: 8 opened2015: 16 closed2016: 8 opened2016: 4 closed2017: 5 opened2017: 7 closed2019: 16 opened2019: 11 closed2020: 9 closed2021: 10 closed
87.8%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Budget began the window at 239 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 113 units opened and 80 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Budget or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Budget for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Budget is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Budget grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Budget can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Budget franchise

Budget is an auto & travel franchisor with 191 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 239 units; its filings record 113 unit openings and 80 closures, ending at 191 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Budget Rent A Car System, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

A Budget Franchise is a business of renting automobiles, without drivers, to the general public, for periods of 180 days or less under the Budget Trademarks

Excerpted from Budget's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Budget franchise: quick answers

How much does a Budget franchise cost?
$605,500 – $1,568,400 all-in to open, per Budget's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Budget units are there?
191 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Budget's units held up?
87.8% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).