Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Big Blue Swim School franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2018

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Big Blue Swim School's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Big Blue Swim School franchise takes $3,124,900 – $4,351,100 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $80,000 – $165,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%. To qualify, Big Blue Swim School asks for $600,000 in liquid cash and a $1,500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Big Blue Swim School franchise costs and fees

The Big Blue Swim School all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$80,000 to $165,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$3,124,900 to $4,351,100
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$1,500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$600,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$3,124,900 to $4,351,100
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 5%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Big Blue Swim School cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Big Blue Swim School's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Big Blue Swim School's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $3,124,900 — about 37× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $80,000 — about 2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Big Blue Swim School

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Big Blue Swim School + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Big Blue Swim School's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2021–2022: began the window at 0 units; 7 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 7 units.

7 units opened and 0 closed between 2021 and 2022.2021: 1 opened2022: 6 opened
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Big Blue Swim School began the window at 0 units. 7 units opened and 0 closed between 2021 and 2022.How we compute this

Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Big Blue Swim School or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Big Blue Swim School for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Big Blue Swim School is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Big Blue Swim School grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Big Blue Swim School can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Big Blue Swim School franchise

Big Blue Swim School is a professional services franchisor with 7 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2021 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 7 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 7 units. Its parent company is Big Blue Swim School Franchising LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

An attractive, scalable franchising opportunity, Big Blue Swim School was founded by former competitive swimmers John Lonergan and Chris DeJong. As a Big Blue Swim School franchisee, you can offer swim lessons to children ages six months to 12 years old in a safe and fun environment through one-on-one training with qualified instructors. Big Blue's philosophy encourages kids to have a BIG moment at every class and encourages children to develop swim skills (stroke, breath, movement) and life...

Excerpted from Big Blue Swim School's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Big Blue Swim School franchise: quick answers

How much does a Big Blue Swim School franchise cost?
$3,124,900 – $4,351,100 all-in to open, per Big Blue Swim School's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Big Blue Swim School units are there?
7 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).