Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Chem-Dry franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 1994

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Chem-Dry's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Chem-Dry's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Chem-Dry franchise takes $72,145 – $253,869 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $62,995 – $136,520. To qualify, Chem-Dry asks for $30,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Chem-Dry franchise costs and fees

The Chem-Dry all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$62,995 to $136,520
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$72,145 to $253,869
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$50,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$30,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$72,145 to $253,869
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement5 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Chem-Dry cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Chem-Dry's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Chem-Dry's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $72,145 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $62,995 — about 1.6× the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Chem-Dry

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Chem-Dry + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Chem-Dry's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 2,151 units; 877 units opened, 1,093 closed, ending at 1,437 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

877 units opened and 1,093 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 49 opened2012: 89 closed2013: 99 opened2013: 48 closed2014: 105 opened2014: 27 closed2015: 106 opened2015: 67 closed2016: 138 opened2016: 86 closed2017: 82 opened2017: 167 closed2019: 95 opened2019: 85 closed2020: 60 opened2020: 126 closed2021: 87 opened2021: 109 closed2022: 56 opened2022: 289 closed
76.2%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Chem-Dry began the window at 2,151 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 877 units opened and 1,093 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Chem-Dry or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Chem-Dry for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Chem-Dry is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Chem-Dry grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Chem-Dry can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Chem-Dry franchise

Chem-Dry is a professional services franchisor with 1,437 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 2,151 units; its filings record 877 unit openings and 1,093 closures, ending at 1,437 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Harris Research Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise offered is for the operation of a Chem-Dry business which provides carpet cleaning, upholstery cleaning, spot removal, protective services and other authorized services to residential and commercial customers.

Excerpted from Chem-Dry's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Chem-Dry franchise: quick answers

How much does a Chem-Dry franchise cost?
$72,145 – $253,869 all-in to open, per Chem-Dry's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Chem-Dry units are there?
1,437 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Chem-Dry's units held up?
76.2% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).