How much is a Chem-Dry franchise? $72,145 – $253,869 to open, per its disclosure filings
$72,145 – $253,869
Opening a Chem-Dry franchise takes $72,145 – $253,869 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $62,995 – $136,520. To qualify, Chem-Dry asks for $30,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Chem-Dry cost table
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $62,995 | $136,520 | $62,995 to $136,520 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $72,145 | $253,869 | $72,145 to $253,869 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $30,000 | $30,000 | $30,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $72,145 | $253,869 | $72,145 to $253,869 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
What's in that number — and what isn't
The $72,145 – $253,869 range is derived from Chem-Dry's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.
Not in the opening number: ongoing royalties (rate not disclosed), and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.
How Chem-Dry's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Chem-Dry's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $72,145 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $62,995 — about 1.6× the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Chem-Dry or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Chem-Dry for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What is the Chem-Dry franchise fee?
$62,995 – $136,520, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.
How much money do you need to qualify for a Chem-Dry franchise?
Chem-Dry's filings ask for $30,000 in liquid cash and a $50,000 minimum net worth (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.