Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Chick-fil-A (License) franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 1946

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Chick-fil-A (License)'s franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Chick-fil-A (License)'s filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Chick-fil-A (License) franchise takes $585,500 – $3,437,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 10% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Chick-fil-A (License) franchise costs and fees

The Chick-fil-A (License) all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$585,500 to $3,437,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$585,500 to $3,437,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Chick-fil-A (License)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales10%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Chick-fil-A (License) cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Chick-fil-A (License)'s cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Chick-fil-A (License)'s disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $585,500 — about 2.1× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Chick-fil-A (License)

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Chick-fil-A (License) + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Chick-fil-A (License)'s units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2017–2022: began the window at 313 units; 98 units opened, 35 closed, ending at 395 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

98 units opened and 35 closed between 2017 and 2022.2017: 34 opened2017: 4 closed2019: 27 opened2019: 6 closed2020: 18 opened2020: 11 closed2021: 11 opened2021: 8 closed2022: 8 opened2022: 6 closed
94%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Chick-fil-A (License) began the window at 313 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 98 units opened and 35 closed between 2017 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Chick-fil-A (License) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Chick-fil-A (License) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Chick-fil-A (License) is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Chick-fil-A (License) grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Chick-fil-A (License) can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Chick-fil-A (License) franchise

Chick-fil-A (License) is a food & beverage franchisor with 395 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2017 and 2022, it began the window at 313 units; its filings record 98 unit openings and 35 closures, ending at 395 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchised business being offered is Chick-fil-A, a system of retail quick-service restaurants specializing in a boneless breast of chicken sandwich.

Excerpted from Chick-fil-A (License)'s own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Chick-fil-A (License) franchise: quick answers

How much does a Chick-fil-A (License) franchise cost?
$585,500 – $3,437,000 all-in to open, per Chick-fil-A (License)'s franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Chick-fil-A (License) units are there?
395 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Chick-fil-A (License)'s units held up?
94% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).