Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

How much is a Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise? $426,735 – $2,339,525 to open, per its disclosure filings

$426,735 – $2,339,525

cash to open, all-inas of 2026-05

Opening a Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise takes $426,735 – $2,339,525 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 15% on sales. To qualify, Chick-fil-A (Operator) asks for $10,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Chick-fil-A's $10,000 fee buys a role, not a business. Chick-fil-A selects the Operator, then funds and owns the restaurant itself — real estate, building, and equipment stay with the company, and the Operator runs that single location.

The 15% figure above is the base service fee on gross sales; Operators also pay an additional fee equal to 50% of the restaurant's net operating profit. Operators build no equity — the business cannot be sold, transferred, or passed to family.

Selection, not money, is the real barrier: Chick-fil-A reports tens of thousands of applications a year for roughly 100 or fewer new Operator openings, and states the $10,000 must be non-gifted, non-borrowed funds.

Editorially reviewed 2026-07-07 (APEX editorial lane) — sources: chick-fil-a.com · qsr.pro · vetmyfranchise.com · franinspect.com

Chick-fil-A (Operator) cost table

The Chick-fil-A (Operator) all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$10,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$426,735 to $2,339,525
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$10,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$426,735 to $2,339,525
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales15%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

The investment figure is a RANGE of FDD Item 7 line items — real estate, build-out, equipment, and working capital, each varying with your market. Our source data carries only the aggregate; the line-by-line amounts and their footnotes are in the brand's FDD Item 7 table. What Item 7 is and how to read it

What's in that number — and what isn't

The $426,735 – $2,339,525 range is derived from Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.

Not in the opening number: the ongoing royalty of 15% on sales, and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.

How Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $426,735 — about 1.5× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 71% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Chick-fil-A (Operator) or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Chick-fil-A (Operator) for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

Get more information about Chick-fil-A (Operator)Step 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Check your investment band — compare franchises by budget

What is the Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise fee?

$10,000, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

What ongoing fees does Chick-fil-A (Operator) charge?

A royalty of 15% on sales, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

How much money do you need to qualify for a Chick-fil-A (Operator) franchise?

Chick-fil-A (Operator)'s filings ask for $10,000 in liquid cash (as of 2026-05). Capital figures are the franchisor's stated minimums, not our advice.

How much is a Chick-fil-A franchise?

The Chick-fil-A Operator fee is $10,000 — one of the lowest entry fees in franchising. But that number is misleading if you read it like a normal franchise: it does not buy the restaurant. Chick-fil-A funds and owns the building, land, and equipment (frequently over $1 million), and the Operator pays only the $10,000 to run one location.

What does the $10,000 Chick-fil-A fee actually cover?

It covers the right to be selected as the Operator of one Chick-fil-A restaurant — not ownership of the business or the property. Chick-fil-A pays for the real estate, construction, and equipment and keeps them; the Operator supplies the $10,000 (from their own non-borrowed funds) and their full-time labor running that store.

What ongoing fees does a Chick-fil-A Operator pay?

More than the low entry fee suggests. Operators pay Chick-fil-A a base service fee of 15% of gross sales, plus an additional amount equal to 50% of the restaurant's net operating profit. In exchange, Chick-fil-A provides and owns the store. This split is how the company earns back the money it invests in each location.

How much does a Chick-fil-A Operator make?

We don't publish an Operator-income figure, and you should be wary of anyone who quotes one as a guarantee. An Operator's take-home is whatever remains of the restaurant's profit after the 15% service fee and the 50% net-profit share, and it varies widely by location and sales. Because Operators build no equity and can't sell the business, the payoff is annual income, not a sellable asset.

How is Chick-fil-A different from a normal franchise?

In a normal franchise you pay a large fee, fund your own build-out, own the operating business, and can eventually sell it. With Chick-fil-A you pay $10,000, own nothing, run a company-owned restaurant for a share of its profit, and cannot sell or transfer it. It is closer to a highly selective operating role than to buying a business.

Can you finance a Chick-fil-A or use borrowed money for the fee?

No. Chick-fil-A states the $10,000 must be your own funds — not borrowed and not gifted. There is also little to finance on the Operator's side, because the company, not the Operator, pays for the land, building, and equipment. Standard franchise financing (SBA loans, franchisor financing) does not apply to the Chick-fil-A Operator model.

Full Chick-fil-A (Operator) profile: unit track record, quick answers & more