Coverall franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Coverall franchise takes $8,316 – $52,847 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $5,289 – $43,080. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales. To qualify, Coverall asks for $4,000 in liquid cash and a $35,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Coverall franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $5,289 | $43,080 | $5,289 to $43,080 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $8,316 | $52,847 | $8,316 to $52,847 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $35,000 | $35,000 | $35,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $4,000 | $4,000 | $4,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $8,316 | $52,847 | $8,316 to $52,847 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
See the full Coverall cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Coverall's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Coverall's disclosed cost sits against the Home Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $8,316 — about 93% below the Home Services median of $116,350.
- Initial franchise fee of $5,289 — about 90% below the Home Services median of $54,450.
Category medians are computed from the Home Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Home Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Coverall's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 8,047 units; 5,314 units opened, 6,177 closed, ending at 487 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Coverall or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Coverall for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Coverall is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Coverall grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Coverall can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Coverall franchise
Coverall is a home services franchisor with 487 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 8,047 units; its filings record 5,314 unit openings and 6,177 closures, ending at 487 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only).
Disclosure filings report 21 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
The franchisee will operate a commercial janitorial cleaning business utilizing our Coverall Program.
Coverall franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Coverall franchise cost?
- $8,316 – $52,847 all-in to open, per Coverall's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Coverall units are there?
- 487 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Coverall's units held up?
- 76.3% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).