Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Craters & Freighters franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 1991

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Craters & Freighters's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Craters & Freighters's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Craters & Freighters franchise takes $176,850 – $276,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $35,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Craters & Freighters, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Craters & Freighters franchise costs and fees

The Craters & Freighters all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$35,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$176,850 to $276,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$176,850 to $276,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Craters & Freighters's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Craters & Freighters cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Craters & Freighters's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Craters & Freighters's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $176,850 — about 2.1× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $35,000 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about Craters & Freighters

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Craters & Freighters + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Craters & Freighters's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 64 units; 5 units opened, 7 closed, ending at 64 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

5 units opened and 7 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 2 opened2012: 1 closed2013: 1 opened2013: 1 closed2014: 1 closed2016: 1 opened2016: 1 closed2017: 2 closed2019: 1 opened2019: 1 closed
95.4%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Craters & Freighters began the window at 64 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 5 units opened and 7 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Craters & Freighters or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Craters & Freighters for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Craters & Freighters is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Craters & Freighters grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Craters & Freighters can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Craters & Freighters franchise

Craters & Freighters is a professional services franchisor with 64 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 64 units; its filings record 5 unit openings and 7 closures, ending at 64 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Craters & Freighters Franchise Company.

Litigation history not in our data for Craters & Freighters — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.

Craters & Freighters franchise: quick answers

How much does a Craters & Freighters franchise cost?
$176,850 – $276,500 all-in to open, per Craters & Freighters's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Craters & Freighters units are there?
64 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Craters & Freighters's units held up?
95.4% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).