Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Drybar franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2010

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Drybar's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Drybar's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Drybar franchise takes $550,504 – $869,724 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $126,124 – $134,124. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Drybar, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Drybar franchise costs and fees

The Drybar all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$126,124 to $134,124
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$550,504 to $869,724
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$550,504 to $869,724
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Drybar's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Drybar cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Drybar's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Drybar's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $550,504 — about 3× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $126,124 — about 2.6× the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Drybar

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Drybar + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Drybar's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 6 units; 57 units opened, 12 closed, ending at 149 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

57 units opened and 12 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 2 opened2014: 1 opened2015: 3 opened2016: 4 opened2017: 8 opened2019: 14 opened2020: 5 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 9 opened2022: 11 opened2022: 11 closed
83.8%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Drybar began the window at 6 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 57 units opened and 12 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Drybar or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Drybar for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Drybar is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Drybar grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Drybar can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Drybar franchise

Drybar is a health & fitness franchisor with 149 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 6 units; its filings record 57 unit openings and 12 closures, ending at 149 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Drybar Franchising LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

You will operate an upscale shop offering hairstyling services in a spa-like setting and at off-site locations under the trade name and service mark DRYBAR®.

Excerpted from Drybar's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Drybar franchise: quick answers

How much does a Drybar franchise cost?
$550,504 – $869,724 all-in to open, per Drybar's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Drybar units are there?
149 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Drybar's units held up?
83.8% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).