Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Freedom Boat Club franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2011

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Freedom Boat Club's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Freedom Boat Club's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Freedom Boat Club franchise takes $222,500 – $500,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Freedom Boat Club franchise costs and fees

The Freedom Boat Club all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$222,500 to $500,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$222,500 to $500,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Freedom Boat Club's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement5 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Freedom Boat Club cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Freedom Boat Club's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Freedom Boat Club's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $222,500 — about 1.2× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Freedom Boat Club

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Freedom Boat Club + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Freedom Boat Club's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 49 units; 270 units opened, 37 closed, ending at 240 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

270 units opened and 37 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 7 opened2013: 9 opened2013: 2 closed2014: 12 opened2014: 1 closed2015: 15 opened2016: 22 opened2016: 5 closed2017: 32 opened2017: 1 closed2019: 36 opened2019: 1 closed2020: 40 opened2020: 2 closed2021: 52 opened2021: 10 closed2022: 45 opened2022: 15 closed
91.7%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Freedom Boat Club began the window at 49 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 270 units opened and 37 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Freedom Boat Club or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Freedom Boat Club for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Freedom Boat Club is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Freedom Boat Club grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Freedom Boat Club can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Freedom Boat Club franchise

Freedom Boat Club is a health & fitness franchisor with 240 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 49 units; its filings record 270 unit openings and 37 closures, ending at 240 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Freedom Franchise Systems LLC.

Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

Freedom Boat Club businesses provide a membership-only yacht and boat club that offers its members the usage of boats at designated times and for designated time periods based on an entry fee and monthly dues (" FBC Business (es )"

Excerpted from Freedom Boat Club's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Freedom Boat Club franchise: quick answers

How much does a Freedom Boat Club franchise cost?
$222,500 – $500,500 all-in to open, per Freedom Boat Club's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Freedom Boat Club units are there?
240 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Freedom Boat Club's units held up?
91.7% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).