Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Haagen-Dazs franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 1983

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Haagen-Dazs's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Haagen-Dazs franchise takes $213,329 – $591,579 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $30,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 4% on sales. To qualify, Haagen-Dazs asks for $80,000 in liquid cash and a $200,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Haagen-Dazs franchise costs and fees

The Haagen-Dazs all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$30,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$213,329 to $591,579
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$200,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$80,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$213,329 to $591,579
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales4%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Haagen-Dazs cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Haagen-Dazs's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Haagen-Dazs's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $213,329 — about 24% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $30,000 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Haagen-Dazs

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Haagen-Dazs + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Haagen-Dazs's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 233 units; 72 units opened, 92 closed, ending at 211 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

72 units opened and 92 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 10 opened2012: 12 closed2013: 12 opened2013: 12 closed2014: 10 opened2014: 16 closed2015: 15 opened2015: 17 closed2019: 1 opened2020: 10 opened2020: 23 closed2021: 14 opened2021: 12 closed
0%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Haagen-Dazs began the window at 233 units. Note — partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 72 units opened and 92 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Haagen-Dazs or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Haagen-Dazs for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Haagen-Dazs is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Haagen-Dazs grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Haagen-Dazs can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Haagen-Dazs franchise

Haagen-Dazs is a food & beverage franchisor with 211 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 233 units; its filings record 72 unit openings and 92 closures, ending at 211 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Dreyer’s Grand Ice Cream Company, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

As a Häagen-Dazs Shop franchisee you will operate an ice cream parlor serving dessert creations made with proprietary recipes featuring Häagen-Dazs brand ice cream and frozen dessert products.

Excerpted from Haagen-Dazs's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Haagen-Dazs franchise: quick answers

How much does a Haagen-Dazs franchise cost?
$213,329 – $591,579 all-in to open, per Haagen-Dazs's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Haagen-Dazs units are there?
211 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Haagen-Dazs's units held up?
0% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).