Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Hammer & Nails franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2015

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Hammer & Nails's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Hammer & Nails franchise takes $650,300 – $918,700 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $49,950. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. To qualify, Hammer & Nails asks for $100,000 in liquid cash and a $500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Hammer & Nails franchise costs and fees

The Hammer & Nails all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$49,950
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$650,300 to $918,700
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$100,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$650,300 to $918,700
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Hammer & Nails cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Hammer & Nails's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Hammer & Nails's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $650,300 — about 3.5× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $49,950 — about in line with the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Hammer & Nails

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Hammer & Nails + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Hammer & Nails's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 9 units; 14 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 21 units.

14 units opened and 2 closed between 2019 and 2022.2019: 3 opened2019: 1 closed2020: 1 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 4 opened2022: 6 opened
95.5%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Hammer & Nails began the window at 9 units. 14 units opened and 2 closed between 2019 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Hammer & Nails or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Hammer & Nails for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Hammer & Nails is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Hammer & Nails grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Hammer & Nails can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Hammer & Nails franchise

Hammer & Nails is a health & fitness franchisor with 21 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 9 units; its filings record 14 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 21 units.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise described in this disclosure document is for the establishment of a franchised retail salon business that specializes in barbering, straight razor shaves, and hand and foot grooming, along with other grooming services, primarily for men under the name “Hammer & Nails” at a specific location (referred to as a “Location” or “Location Franchise”).

Excerpted from Hammer & Nails's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Hammer & Nails franchise: quick answers

How much does a Hammer & Nails franchise cost?
$650,300 – $918,700 all-in to open, per Hammer & Nails's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Hammer & Nails units are there?
21 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Hammer & Nails's units held up?
95.5% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).