Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening an Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise takes $41,100 – $166,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $5,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 2% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 8%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $5,000 | $5,000 | $5,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $41,100 | $166,500 | $41,100 to $166,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $41,100 | $166,500 | $41,100 to $166,500 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 2% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 8% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
How Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $41,100 — about 51% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $5,000 — about 87% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2017: began the window at 48 units; 16 units opened, 21 closed, ending at 33 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Owens Corning Basement Finishing System or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Owens Corning Basement Finishing System for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Owens Corning Basement Finishing System is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Owens Corning Basement Finishing System grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Owens Corning Basement Finishing System can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise
Owens Corning Basement Finishing System is a professional services franchisor with 33 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2017, it began the window at 48 units; its filings record 16 unit openings and 21 closures, ending at 33 units. Its parent company is Owens Corning Remodeling Systems, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Franchised Installer Program (the "Program") is designed for existing residential remodelers who desire to become Owens Corning Franchised Installers ("Franchised Installers"). Franchised Installers are exclusively authorized to sell and install the Owens Corning’s proprietary Basement Finishing System ("Basement Finishing System ") in accordance with the standards and specifications established by Owens Corning Remodeling Systems, LLC. The Basement Finishing System may be referred to in this disclosure document as the "Finishing System. "
Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise: quick answers
- How much does an Owens Corning Basement Finishing System franchise cost?
- $41,100 – $166,500 all-in to open, per Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Owens Corning Basement Finishing System units are there?
- 33 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Owens Corning Basement Finishing System's units held up?
- 85.1% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).