Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 1984

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise takes $456,858 – $915,536 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $55,000 – $64,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise costs and fees

The Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$55,000 to $64,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$456,858 to $915,536
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$456,858 to $915,536
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6.5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 3%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $456,858 — about 1.6× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $55,000 — about 1.6× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 545 units; 281 units opened, 260 closed, ending at 532 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

281 units opened and 260 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 21 opened2012: 35 closed2013: 42 opened2013: 33 closed2014: 69 opened2014: 30 closed2015: 58 opened2015: 29 closed2016: 42 opened2016: 61 closed2019: 28 opened2019: 25 closed2020: 21 opened2020: 47 closed
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness began the window at 545 units. Note — partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 281 units opened and 260 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise

Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness is a food & beverage franchisor with 532 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 545 units; its filings record 281 unit openings and 260 closures, ending at 532 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is RWIFC Holdings, LLC.

Litigation history not in our data for Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchised business being offered is RITA’S ICE-CUSTARD-HAPPINESS, a retail frozen dessert business featuring Italian ice, frozen custard, and other approved menu items.

Excerpted from Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise: quick answers

How much does a Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness franchise cost?
$456,858 – $915,536 all-in to open, per Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Rita's Ice-Custard-Happiness units are there?
532 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).