Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise takes $564,500 – $888,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $50,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $564,500 | $888,000 | $564,500 to $888,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $750,000 | $750,000 | $750,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $150,000 | $150,000 | $150,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $564,500 | $888,000 | $564,500 to $888,000 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 5% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
How Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $564,500 — about 2× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $50,000 — about 1.4× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise
Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em is a food & beverage franchisor in our disclosure-filing dataset (as of 2026-05). Its parent company is Schwietert's Cones & Candy Franchising, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em franchise cost?
- $564,500 – $888,000 all-in to open, per Schwietert's Cones & Candy (fka JJ's Candy Em's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).