Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Sign Gypsies franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Event ServicesFDD entity year 2019

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Sign Gypsies's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Sign Gypsies's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Sign Gypsies franchise takes Up to $9,900 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $3,950. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Sign Gypsies, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Sign Gypsies franchise costs and fees

The Sign Gypsies all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$3,950
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costsUp to $9,900
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)Up to $9,900
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Sign Gypsies's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement1 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Sign Gypsies cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Sign Gypsies's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sign Gypsies's disclosed cost sits against the Event Services category:

  • Initial franchise fee of $3,950 — about 78% below the Event Services median of $18,150.

Category medians are computed from the Event Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Event Services franchises

Get free info about Sign Gypsies

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Sign Gypsies + 3 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Sign Gypsies's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 11 units; 872 units opened, 69 closed, ending at 754 units.

872 units opened and 69 closed between 2019 and 2022.2019: 21 opened2019: 2 closed2020: 388 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 398 opened2021: 15 closed2022: 65 opened2022: 51 closed
92.1%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Sign Gypsies began the window at 11 units. 872 units opened and 69 closed between 2019 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sign Gypsies or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sign Gypsies for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Sign Gypsies is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sign Gypsies grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sign Gypsies can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Sign Gypsies franchise

Sign Gypsies is an event services franchisor with 754 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 11 units; its filings record 872 unit openings and 69 closures, ending at 754 units.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Sign Gypsies is a rapidly growing franchise founded in 2018 that specializes in creating and delivering custom yard signs for celebrations like birthdays and graduations, allowing local franchisees to operate their own businesses with support and training. The franchise has gained popularity for its creative products and the joy it brings to special occasions, making it an appealing option for entrepreneurs in the event services market.

Excerpted from Sign Gypsies's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Sign Gypsies franchise: quick answers

How much does a Sign Gypsies franchise cost?
Up to $9,900 all-in to open, per Sign Gypsies's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Sign Gypsies units are there?
754 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Sign Gypsies's units held up?
92.1% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).