Superior Mosquito Defense franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Superior Mosquito Defense franchise takes $17,400 – $46,200 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000 – $20,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Superior Mosquito Defense franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $20,000 | $10,000 to $20,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $17,400 | $46,200 | $17,400 to $46,200 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $17,400 | $46,200 | $17,400 to $46,200 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Superior Mosquito Defense's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Superior Mosquito Defense cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Superior Mosquito Defense's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Superior Mosquito Defense's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $17,400 — about 79% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 75% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Superior Mosquito Defense's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2014–2016: began the window at 0 units; 9 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 9 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Superior Mosquito Defense or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Superior Mosquito Defense for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Superior Mosquito Defense is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Superior Mosquito Defense grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Superior Mosquito Defense can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Superior Mosquito Defense franchise
Superior Mosquito Defense is a professional services franchisor with 9 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2014 and 2016, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 9 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 9 units. Its parent company is Legg SMS, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Franchise offered is for the operation of an outdoor insect control service business that offers services to control undesirable outdoor insects such as mosquitos, ticks and fleas at regular intervals or on an as needed basis. This is a seasonal business that is service oriented providing specialized services to residential and commercial customers who need to manage outdoor insects utilizing safe and organic methods, under the name "Superior Mosquito Defense
Superior Mosquito Defense franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Superior Mosquito Defense franchise cost?
- $17,400 – $46,200 all-in to open, per Superior Mosquito Defense's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Superior Mosquito Defense units are there?
- 9 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Superior Mosquito Defense's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).