Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

How much is a Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise? $85,525 – $186,930 to open, per its disclosure filings

$85,525 – $186,930

cash to open, all-inas of 2026-05

Opening a Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise takes $85,525 – $186,930 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $36,640 – $50,140. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan cost table

The Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$36,640 to $50,140
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$85,525 to $186,930
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$85,525 to $186,930
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

The investment figure is a RANGE of FDD Item 7 line items — real estate, build-out, equipment, and working capital, each varying with your market. Our source data carries only the aggregate; the line-by-line amounts and their footnotes are in the brand's FDD Item 7 table. What Item 7 is and how to read it

What's in that number — and what isn't

The $85,525 – $186,930 range is derived from Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's filed initial-investment disclosure (FDD Item 7 class): build-out, equipment, and opening costs as the franchisor stated them. Your market's real estate, labor, and build-out prices can land you outside it.

Not in the opening number: ongoing royalties (rate not disclosed), and your operating losses while the unit ramps. Every figure marked "Not disclosed" above is a gap in the filings, not a zero.

How Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan's disclosed cost sits against the Education & Arts category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $85,525 — about in line with the Education & Arts median of $100,538.
  • Initial franchise fee of $36,640 — about 18% below the Education & Arts median of $44,750.

Category medians are computed from the Education & Arts brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Education & Arts franchises

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

Get more information about Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | SylvanStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Check your investment band — compare franchises by budget

What is the Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan franchise fee?

$36,640 – $50,140, one-time, per disclosure filings as of 2026-05.

Full Sylvan Learning Center | Sylvan Learning | Sylvan profile: unit track record, quick answers & more