Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

The Grout Doctor franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Home ServicesFDD entity year 2001

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit The Grout Doctor's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening The Grout Doctor franchise takes $23,765 – $37,785 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $15,000 – $20,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. To qualify, The Grout Doctor asks for $15,905 in liquid cash and a $100,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

The Grout Doctor franchise costs and fees

The The Grout Doctor all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$15,000 to $20,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$23,765 to $37,785
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$100,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$15,905
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$23,765 to $37,785
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full The Grout Doctor cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How The Grout Doctor's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where The Grout Doctor's disclosed cost sits against the Home Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $23,765 — about 80% below the Home Services median of $116,350.
  • Initial franchise fee of $15,000 — about 72% below the Home Services median of $54,450.

Category medians are computed from the Home Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Home Services franchises

Get free info about The Grout Doctor

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about The Grout Doctor + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How The Grout Doctor's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 69 units; 47 units opened, 36 closed, ending at 84 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

47 units opened and 36 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 5 opened2012: 6 closed2013: 7 opened2013: 5 closed2014: 5 opened2014: 5 closed2015: 2 opened2015: 7 closed2016: 4 opened2016: 4 closed2017: 7 opened2019: 5 opened2019: 5 closed2020: 4 opened2020: 3 closed2021: 8 opened2021: 1 closed
95.6%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. The Grout Doctor began the window at 69 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 47 units opened and 36 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for The Grout Doctor or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask The Grout Doctor for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether The Grout Doctor is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether The Grout Doctor grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only The Grout Doctor can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About The Grout Doctor franchise

The Grout Doctor is a home services franchisor with 84 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 69 units; its filings record 47 unit openings and 36 closures, ending at 84 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Grout Doctor Global Franchise Corp..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The Grout Doctor®, an award-winning franchise, is proud to be not only the largest but the most recognized and experienced franchise in the business! We specialize in renewing existing tile, natural stone, and grout to its original beauty. We are proud to have been recently rated one of the top franchises in North America by the Franchise Business Review.

Excerpted from The Grout Doctor's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

The Grout Doctor franchise: quick answers

How much does The Grout Doctor franchise cost?
$23,765 – $37,785 all-in to open, per The Grout Doctor's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many The Grout Doctor units are there?
84 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have The Grout Doctor's units held up?
95.6% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).