Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

The Habit Burger Grill franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 2013

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit The Habit Burger Grill's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening The Habit Burger Grill franchise takes $1,026,000 – $2,859,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $98,500 – $119,400. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

The Habit Burger Grill franchise costs and fees

The The Habit Burger Grill all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$98,500 to $119,400
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$1,026,000 to $2,859,000
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$1,026,000 to $2,859,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means The Habit Burger Grill's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full The Habit Burger Grill cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How The Habit Burger Grill's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where The Habit Burger Grill's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $1,026,000 — about 3.6× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $98,500 — about 2.8× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about The Habit Burger Grill

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about The Habit Burger Grill + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How The Habit Burger Grill's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2014–2022: began the window at 0 units; 51 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 52 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

51 units opened and 2 closed between 2014 and 2022.2014: 1 opened2015: 4 opened2016: 3 opened2017: 5 opened2019: 3 opened2020: 3 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 8 opened2021: 1 closed2022: 24 opened
96.6%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. The Habit Burger Grill began the window at 0 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 51 units opened and 2 closed between 2014 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for The Habit Burger Grill or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask The Habit Burger Grill for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether The Habit Burger Grill is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether The Habit Burger Grill grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only The Habit Burger Grill can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About The Habit Burger Grill franchise

The Habit Burger Grill is a food & beverage franchisor with 52 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2014 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 51 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 52 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is The Habit Restaurants, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchise is to operate a restaurant under the “Habit Burger” name that features premium hamburgers and hamburger-related products and services.

Excerpted from The Habit Burger Grill's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

The Habit Burger Grill franchise: quick answers

How much does The Habit Burger Grill franchise cost?
$1,026,000 – $2,859,000 all-in to open, per The Habit Burger Grill's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many The Habit Burger Grill units are there?
52 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have The Habit Burger Grill's units held up?
96.6% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).