The happy cat hotel franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening The happy cat hotel franchise takes $464,500 – $781,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $51,900 – $80,900. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
The happy cat hotel franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $51,900 | $80,900 | $51,900 to $80,900 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $464,500 | $781,000 | $464,500 to $781,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $464,500 | $781,000 | $464,500 to $781,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means The happy cat hotel's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full The happy cat hotel cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How The happy cat hotel's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where The happy cat hotel's disclosed cost sits against the Pet Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $464,500 — about 1.5× the Pet Services median of $302,583.
- Initial franchise fee of $51,900 — about in line with the Pet Services median of $59,500.
Category medians are computed from the Pet Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Pet Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How The happy cat hotel's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2021–2022: began the window at 0 units; 1 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 1 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for The happy cat hotel or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask The happy cat hotel for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether The happy cat hotel is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether The happy cat hotel grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only The happy cat hotel can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About The happy cat hotel franchise
The happy cat hotel is a pet services franchisor with 1 unit at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2021 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 1 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 1 units. Its parent company is Happy Cat Holdings, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The franchised business being offered is Happy Cat Hotel® which consists of a hotel featuring the boarding of domestic cats in individually themed, luxury-styled rooms.
The happy cat hotel franchise: quick answers
- How much does The happy cat hotel franchise cost?
- $464,500 – $781,000 all-in to open, per The happy cat hotel's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many The happy cat hotel units are there?
- 1 unit at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).