True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise takes $543,200 – $981,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $543,200 | $981,500 | $543,200 to $981,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $543,200 | $981,500 | $543,200 to $981,500 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 3% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
How True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $543,200 — about 3.3× the Retail median of $165,000.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 340 units; 27 units opened, 139 closed, ending at 200 units. (partial records: 2015, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise
True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station is a retail franchisor with 200 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 340 units; its filings record 27 unit openings and 139 closures, ending at 200 units (partial records: 2015, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is True Value Specialty Company, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We offer franchises for rental stores operated under the True Value Rental brand that primarily rent tools, party supplies, machines and other products.
True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise: quick answers
- How much does a True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station franchise cost?
- $543,200 – $981,500 all-in to open, per True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station units are there?
- 200 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have True Value Rental | Grand Rental Station's units held up?
- 77.2% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).