Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

USL franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Sports & RecreationFDD entity year 2016

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit USL's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. USL's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening an USL franchise takes $31,486,450 – $39,761,944 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for USL, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

USL franchise costs and fees

The USL all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$31,486,450 to $39,761,944
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$31,486,450 to $39,761,944
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means USL's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement20 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full USL cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How USL's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where USL's disclosed cost sits against the Sports & Recreation category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $31,486,450 — about 130× the Sports & Recreation median of $242,259.

Category medians are computed from the Sports & Recreation brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Sports & Recreation franchises

Get free info about USL

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about USL + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How USL's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 104 units; 69 units opened, 73 closed, ending at 24 units. (partial records: 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

69 units opened and 73 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 8 opened2012: 8 closed2013: 17 opened2013: 9 closed2014: 17 opened2014: 16 closed2015: 18 opened2015: 24 closed2016: 3 opened2017: 3 opened2017: 1 closed2020: 1 opened2020: 6 closed2021: 2 opened2021: 4 closed2022: 5 closed
61.5%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. USL began the window at 104 units. Note — partial records: 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 69 units opened and 73 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for USL or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask USL for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether USL is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether USL grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only USL can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the USL franchise

USL is a sports & recreation franchisor with 24 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 104 units; its filings record 69 unit openings and 73 closures, ending at 24 units (partial records: 2018, 2019 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is United Soccer Leagues, LLC.

Disclosure filings report 3 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

You will operate a team in the men’s professional soccer league known as the "USL Championship" (f/k/a the "United Soccer League" or "USL") under a Franchise Agreement with us.

Excerpted from USL's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

USL franchise: quick answers

How much does an USL franchise cost?
$31,486,450 – $39,761,944 all-in to open, per USL's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many USL units are there?
24 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have USL's units held up?
61.5% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).