Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Which Wich franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 2004

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Which Wich's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Which Wich's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Which Wich franchise takes $253,500 – $822,250 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Which Wich asks for $150,000 in liquid cash and a $500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Which Wich franchise costs and fees

The Which Wich all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$253,500 to $822,250
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$150,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$253,500 to $822,250
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Which Wich's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Which Wich cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Which Wich's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Which Wich's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $253,500 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Which Wich

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Which Wich + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Which Wich's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 156 units; 380 units opened, 213 closed, ending at 220 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

380 units opened and 213 closed between 2012 and 2022.2012: 55 opened2012: 3 closed2013: 60 opened2013: 3 closed2014: 57 opened2014: 4 closed2015: 55 opened2015: 16 closed2016: 54 opened2016: 22 closed2017: 44 opened2017: 16 closed2019: 28 opened2019: 48 closed2020: 13 opened2020: 66 closed2021: 6 opened2021: 17 closed2022: 8 opened2022: 18 closed
73.6%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Which Wich began the window at 156 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 380 units opened and 213 closed between 2012 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Which Wich or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Which Wich for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Which Wich is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Which Wich grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Which Wich can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Which Wich franchise

Which Wich is a food & beverage franchisor with 220 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 156 units; its filings record 380 unit openings and 213 closures, ending at 220 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Which Wich Franchise, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

You will operate a retail business that offers a variety of customizable “wiches,” as well as salads, milkshakes, soft drinks, chips, cookies, and related items under the WHICH WICH® trade name and business system.

Excerpted from Which Wich's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Which Wich franchise: quick answers

How much does a Which Wich franchise cost?
$253,500 – $822,250 all-in to open, per Which Wich's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Which Wich units are there?
220 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Which Wich's units held up?
73.6% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).