Ziebart franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Ziebart franchise takes $416,820 – $566,100 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. To qualify, Ziebart asks for $150,000 in liquid cash and a $350,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Ziebart franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $416,820 | $566,100 | $416,820 to $566,100 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $350,000 | $350,000 | $350,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $150,000 | $150,000 | $150,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $416,820 | $566,100 | $416,820 to $566,100 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Ziebart's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Ziebart cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Ziebart's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Ziebart's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:
- Minimum startup cost of $416,820 — about 2.3× the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Ziebart's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 86 units; 18 units opened, 26 closed, ending at 81 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Ziebart or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Ziebart for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Ziebart is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Ziebart grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Ziebart can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Ziebart franchise
Ziebart is an auto & travel franchisor with 81 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 86 units; its filings record 18 unit openings and 26 closures, ending at 81 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Ziebart Corporation.
Disclosure filings report 3 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
As a franchisee, you will operate a business under the name Ziebart performing appearance and protection services to motor vehicles that includes application of protective coatings, detailing services, window treatment, and installation of accessory products.
Ziebart franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Ziebart franchise cost?
- $416,820 – $566,100 all-in to open, per Ziebart's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Ziebart units are there?
- 81 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Ziebart's units held up?
- 94.1% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).