Handyman franchise costs and what the work is really like
Across 4 handyman franchise brands we track, 4 disclose a minimum investment. The median minimum cash-to-open is $109,919, with disclosed totals running $62,150 – $238,736; initial franchise fees run $38,250 – $71,000. Every figure is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.
Compare handyman franchise costs, brand by brand
What the work is really like
Handyman franchises book weekday service windows — typically 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. arrival slots, with jobs sold in two-to-four-hour blocks inside a service radius you drive daily. Evenings go to estimates, callbacks, and tomorrow's schedule; weekend work exists, but most systems price it as premium rather than default. Owner-operators usually start on the tools, which means knees, ladders, crawl spaces, and a truck loaded before seven.
Underneath, it's a scheduling-and-labor business: the franchise buys you a brand, call handling, and job-pricing systems, but the economics live and die on keeping skilled techs booked. Recruiting and retaining tradespeople is the hard part every franchisee names — the lead flow matters less than the hands. Owners who stay office-bound need an operations manager from day one, and that salary belongs in the working-capital math.
Seasonality is mild but real: exterior work stacks into the warm months while interior repairs fill winter, so the year runs steadier than a landscaper's and lumpier than a plumber's.
Handyman franchise costs, brand by brand
| Brand | Cash to open | Franchise fee |
|---|---|---|
| Handyman Connection | $115,837 – $238,736 | $71,000 |
| Mr. Handyman | $143,150 – $179,600 | $70,500 |
| A All Animal Control | AAAC Wildlife Removal | $62,150 – $156,600 | $38,250 – $61,250 |
| HOMEstretch | $104,000 – $216,850 | $60,000 |
Each brand page has the footed cost ledger: fee, Item-7 range, royalty, and unit history — with "not disclosed" printed where a figure is missing.
Compare brands in this trade: Handyman Connection vs Mr. Handyman — the two fullest data records here; swap in any brand from the table above on the compare page.
Red flags to check before any handyman discovery call
- Item 7's low number is not your number. Sales teams quote the bottom of the range; outfit your budget to the high end plus working capital.
- No Item 19 earnings claim? Ask why. If earnings promises appear in conversation but not in the FDD, that gap is the answer.
- Item 20 exits. Compare closures and terminations to openings over the last three years — our brand pages compute this for you.
- "Semi-absentee" pitches. Handyman operations still need a manager; if it's not you, that salary belongs in your math.
- Litigation history (Item 3) and franchisee-association disputes — search both before the discovery day, not after.
- Validate past the reference list. Call operators the franchisor did NOT hand you, including former franchisees.
Handyman franchise: quick answers
- How much does a handyman franchise cost?
- The median minimum investment across the 4 handyman franchise brands with disclosed figures is $109,919; disclosed totals run $62,150 – $238,736. Costs vary widely by format and real estate — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7, not the trade average.
- What franchise fee do handyman franchises charge?
- Disclosed initial franchise fees among the handyman brands we track run $38,250 – $71,000 (median $65,250). The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out, equipment, and working capital usually dwarf it.
- How many handyman franchise brands are there?
- Our dataset matches 4 franchise brands to the handyman trade, 4 of which disclose investment figures. Matching is by industry plus trade keywords in the brand's name or FDD-derived description, so adjacent concepts can appear — we'd rather show the match rule than hide it.
More home services research
Keep researching
Still researching?
Every handyman brand above links to its full cost ledger — fee, royalty, and how its units have held up.