Colors On Parade franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Colors On Parade franchise takes $19,350 – $84,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $10,000 – $18,500. To qualify, Colors On Parade asks for $10,000 in liquid cash and a $10,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Colors On Parade franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $10,000 | $18,500 | $10,000 to $18,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $19,350 | $84,000 | $19,350 to $84,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $10,000 | $10,000 | $10,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $19,350 | $84,000 | $19,350 to $84,000 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Colors On Parade cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Colors On Parade's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Colors On Parade's disclosed cost sits against the Auto & Travel category:
- Minimum startup cost of $19,350 — about 89% below the Auto & Travel median of $177,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $10,000 — about 70% below the Auto & Travel median of $33,740.
Category medians are computed from the Auto & Travel brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Auto & Travel franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Colors On Parade's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2016: began the window at 269 units; 116 units opened, 60 closed, ending at 224 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Colors On Parade or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Colors On Parade for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Colors On Parade is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Colors On Parade grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Colors On Parade can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Colors On Parade franchise
Colors On Parade is an auto & travel franchisor with 224 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2016, it began the window at 269 units; its filings record 116 unit openings and 60 closures, ending at 224 units. Its parent company is Total Car Franchising Corp..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We offer an Operator Franchise (the “Franchise”) whereby you (“you,” for the purposes of this franchise disclosure document, includes all equity owners of the franchisee) establish and operate a business that provides mobile vehicle repair and restoration services, including vehicle exterior paint repair and refinishing, pointless dent removal, and interior repair (the “Core Services”), under OUR Marks. With our training and prior approval, you may also perform other authorized restoration and improvement services (“Ancillary Services”) under TCFC's Marks, such as restoration of planes, coffins, boats and restaurant upholstery and wheel and glass repair. A Colors on Parade Operator Franchisee (“Operator Franchisee” or “Franchisee”) A Colors on Parade Operator Franchise provides paint repair and restoration services, pointless dent repair services and/or interior repairs, and other ancillary services (collectively, the “Services”) within a defined territory (the “Territory”). The current form of the Operator Franchise Agreement is attached to this franchise disclosure document as Exhibit C. A person or entity that enters into an Operator Franchise Agreement with us is referred to as an “Operator Franchisee.” An Operator Franchisee operates one or more operating units, each of which consists of a certified Colors on Parade® truck, trailer or van with proprietary mobile laboratory (an “Operating Unit”). An Operator Franchisee receives assistance and advice from us and/or a Colors on Parade area representative (“Area Representative”). A Colors on Parade Area Representative provides one or more of the Services within a designated area (the “Development Area”), using one or more Operating Units, and assists Operator Franchisees in its Development Area to establish their businesses and obtain and service customers in their territories. We compensate the Area Representative for your Territory for assisting you by sharing the monthly royalty fees that you pay to us. An Area Representative may not offer franchises for sale in a registration state until such time as it has an effective registration application in that state. We began offering Operator Franchises (which were formerly called “Limited Rights Franchises”) in November 1991. Although we have also offered an area representative franchise in California in the past and currently offer an area representative franchise in other states, we do not currently offer an area representative franchise in California.
Colors On Parade franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Colors On Parade franchise cost?
- $19,350 – $84,000 all-in to open, per Colors On Parade's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Colors On Parade units are there?
- 224 units at the end of 2016 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Colors On Parade's units held up?
- 79.3% of units at risk between 2014 and 2016 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).