Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Dippin' Dots franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Food & BeverageFDD entity year 2012

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Dippin' Dots's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Dippin' Dots's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Dippin' Dots franchise takes $139,704 – $386,950 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $96,799 – $133,150. To qualify, Dippin' Dots asks for $80,000 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Dippin' Dots franchise costs and fees

The Dippin' Dots all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$96,799 to $133,150
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$139,704 to $386,950
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$80,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$139,704 to $386,950
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement5 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Dippin' Dots cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Dippin' Dots's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Dippin' Dots's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $139,704 — about 51% below the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
  • Initial franchise fee of $96,799 — about 2.8× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.

Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises

Get free info about Dippin' Dots

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Dippin' Dots + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Dippin' Dots's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 254 units; 96 units opened, 35 closed, ending at 224 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

96 units opened and 35 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 15 closed2013: 9 opened2013: 3 closed2014: 13 opened2014: 3 closed2015: 21 opened2015: 2 closed2016: 22 opened2016: 5 closed2017: 13 opened2017: 2 closed2019: 14 opened2019: 3 closed2020: 4 opened2020: 2 closed
97%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Dippin' Dots began the window at 254 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 96 units opened and 35 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Dippin' Dots or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Dippin' Dots for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Dippin' Dots is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Dippin' Dots grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Dippin' Dots can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Dippin' Dots franchise

Dippin' Dots is a food & beverage franchisor with 224 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 254 units; its filings record 96 unit openings and 35 closures, ending at 224 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Dippin' Dots Franchising, L.L.C..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

Dippin’ Dots Franchising, L.L.C. offers you the opportunity to operate a Dippin’ Dots® franchised business, which includes (1) the right to operate a fixed location Dippin’ Dots® retail ice cream store or kiosk, (2) the right to sell Dippin’ Dots® products at one or more events such as fairs, festivals, and similar-type events in your territory, and (3) the right to sell Dippin’ Dots® products in vending machines or freezers placed in retail locations in your territory.

Excerpted from Dippin' Dots's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Dippin' Dots franchise: quick answers

How much does a Dippin' Dots franchise cost?
$139,704 – $386,950 all-in to open, per Dippin' Dots's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Dippin' Dots units are there?
224 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Dippin' Dots's units held up?
97% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).