Happy Lemon franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Happy Lemon franchise takes $289,000 – $607,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $95,000 – $125,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Happy Lemon franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $95,000 | $125,000 | $95,000 to $125,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $289,000 | $607,000 | $289,000 to $607,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $289,000 | $607,000 | $289,000 to $607,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Happy Lemon's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 3% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Happy Lemon cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Happy Lemon's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Happy Lemon's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $289,000 — about in line with the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $95,000 — about 2.7× the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Happy Lemon's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 0 units; 48 units opened, 2 closed, ending at 91 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Happy Lemon or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Happy Lemon for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Happy Lemon is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Happy Lemon grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Happy Lemon can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Happy Lemon franchise
Happy Lemon is a food & beverage franchisor with 91 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 48 unit openings and 2 closures, ending at 91 units. Its parent company is Yummy town UK Limited.
Disclosure filings report 2 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
We offer area development rights and single unit franchises awarding the right to operate a store under the Happy Lemon trademarks and business systems featuring tea beverages with fresh fruits, milk, salted cheese, boba and other specialty items, as well as other complementary menu items.
Happy Lemon franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Happy Lemon franchise cost?
- $289,000 – $607,000 all-in to open, per Happy Lemon's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Happy Lemon units are there?
- 91 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Happy Lemon's units held up?
- 97.9% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).