Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

HobbyTown franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 1985

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit HobbyTown's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. HobbyTown's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a HobbyTown franchise takes $340,000 – $610,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 3% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, HobbyTown asks for $48,510 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

HobbyTown franchise costs and fees

The HobbyTown all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$340,000 to $610,000
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$48,510
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$340,000 to $610,000
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means HobbyTown's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales3%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full HobbyTown cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How HobbyTown's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where HobbyTown's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $340,000 — about 2.1× the Retail median of $165,000.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about HobbyTown

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about HobbyTown + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How HobbyTown's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 148 units; 56 units opened, 84 closed, ending at 110 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

56 units opened and 84 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 8 opened2012: 1 closed2013: 12 opened2013: 4 closed2014: 8 opened2014: 9 closed2015: 10 opened2015: 12 closed2016: 6 opened2016: 11 closed2017: 5 opened2017: 14 closed2019: 3 opened2019: 20 closed2020: 1 opened2020: 9 closed2021: 3 opened2021: 4 closed
76.8%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. HobbyTown began the window at 148 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 56 units opened and 84 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for HobbyTown or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask HobbyTown for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether HobbyTown is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether HobbyTown grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only HobbyTown can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the HobbyTown franchise

HobbyTown is a retail franchisor with 110 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 148 units; its filings record 56 unit openings and 84 closures, ending at 110 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is HobbyTown Unlimited Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchisee will engage in the retail sales of hobby, toy, entertainment, educational, collectible and gift merchandise to the public

Excerpted from HobbyTown's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

HobbyTown franchise: quick answers

How much does a HobbyTown franchise cost?
$340,000 – $610,000 all-in to open, per HobbyTown's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many HobbyTown units are there?
110 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have HobbyTown's units held up?
76.8% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is HobbyTown SBA-eligible?
HobbyTown is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.