Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

K-9 Resorts franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2016

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit K-9 Resorts's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a K-9 Resorts franchise takes $1,941,920 – $2,446,135 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $79,000 – $109,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, K-9 Resorts asks for $430,275 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

K-9 Resorts franchise costs and fees

The K-9 Resorts all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$79,000 to $109,000
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$1,941,920 to $2,446,135
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$430,275
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$1,941,920 to $2,446,135
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means K-9 Resorts's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full K-9 Resorts cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How K-9 Resorts's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where K-9 Resorts's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $1,941,920 — about 23× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $79,000 — about 2× the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about K-9 Resorts

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about K-9 Resorts + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How K-9 Resorts's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2013–2022: began the window at 0 units; 20 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 17 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

20 units opened and 1 closed between 2013 and 2022.2013: 3 opened2014: 1 opened2015: 1 opened2019: 4 opened2020: 1 opened2020: 1 closed2021: 3 opened2022: 7 opened
95%
of units at risk 2020–2022 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. K-9 Resorts began the window at 0 units. Note — partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 20 units opened and 1 closed between 2013 and 2022.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for K-9 Resorts or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask K-9 Resorts for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether K-9 Resorts is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether K-9 Resorts grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only K-9 Resorts can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the K-9 Resorts franchise

K-9 Resorts is a professional services franchisor with 17 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2013 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 20 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 17 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is K 9 Holdings, LLC.

Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

As a franchisee, you will operate a K9 Resorts franchise offering dog daycare and boarding services in a luxury pet care facility.

Excerpted from K-9 Resorts's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

K-9 Resorts franchise: quick answers

How much does a K-9 Resorts franchise cost?
$1,941,920 – $2,446,135 all-in to open, per K-9 Resorts's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many K-9 Resorts units are there?
17 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have K-9 Resorts's units held up?
95% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).