Panda Express franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Panda Express franchise takes $510,000 – $3,268,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $25,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Panda Express franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $25,000 | $25,000 | $25,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $510,000 | $3,268,000 | $510,000 to $3,268,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $510,000 | $3,268,000 | $510,000 to $3,268,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Panda Express's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 8% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Panda Express cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Panda Express's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Panda Express's disclosed cost sits against the Food & Beverage category:
- Minimum startup cost of $510,000 — about 1.8× the Food & Beverage median of $282,500.
- Initial franchise fee of $25,000 — about 29% below the Food & Beverage median of $35,000.
Category medians are computed from the Food & Beverage brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Food & Beverage franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Panda Express's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2022: began the window at 38 units; 110 units opened, 15 closed, ending at 157 units. (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Panda Express or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Panda Express for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Panda Express is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Panda Express grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Panda Express can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Panda Express franchise
Panda Express is a food & beverage franchisor with 157 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2022, it began the window at 38 units; its filings record 110 unit openings and 15 closures, ending at 157 units (partial records: 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Citadel Panda Express, Inc..
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
Citadel Panda Express, Inc. offers licenses to qualified applicants to develop and operate a Panda Express restaurant featuring on-premises dining and carry-out of gourmet Chinese and other Asian food items, beverages and other related menu items.
Panda Express franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Panda Express franchise cost?
- $510,000 – $3,268,000 all-in to open, per Panda Express's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Panda Express units are there?
- 157 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Panda Express's units held up?
- 94% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).